WHO WE ARE

Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) connects thousands of pediatricians and other health care providers worldwide. This international gathering offers opportunities for a global audience of physician-scientists, clinicians, and educators to share research, explore new ideas, build career opportunities, and collaborate on future projects. Presentations cover issues of interest to generalists as well as topics critical to a wide array of specialty and sub-specialty areas. The PAS Meeting is produced through the partnership of four leading pediatric associations. The executive leadership of the PAS Meeting and two of its partners, the American Pediatric Society (APS) and the Society for Pediatric Research (SPR), are based in The Woodlands, TX.

OUR PARTNERS

The PAS Meeting is produced through a partnership of four pediatric organizations that are leaders in the advancement of pediatric research and child advocacy. These partners, designated below, are pleased to celebrate ongoing collaborations with the Alliance and Affiliate supporters of the PAS Meeting denoted below.

  • American Pediatric Society (APS) is an organization dedicated to the advancement of child health through the promotion of pediatric research, recognition of achievement, and cultivation of excellence in pediatrics through advocacy, scholarship, education, and leadership development and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement.
  • Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) is an international society whose purpose is to create a network of multidisciplinary researchers to improve child health. SPR promotes the interchange of ideas and provides opportunities for investigators to present and be honored for their work.
  • Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is a national organization dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents through leadership in the education of child health professionals, research, dissemination of knowledge, patient care, and advocacy, in partnership with children, families, and communities. This is accomplished through membership activities, funded research, teaching programs, and advocacy to affect public and governmental opinion positively for children.
  • American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is an organization of primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists, and pediatric surgical specialists committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental and social health for all infants, children, adolescents, and young adults.

OUR BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Susan Bostwick, MD, MBA -President
Weill Cornell Medicine
sbbostwi@med.cornell.edu

Vineet Bhandari, MD, DM, FAAP– Secretary/Treasurer
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University
bhandari-vineet@cooperhealth.edu

Todd Florin, MD, MSCE
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
taflorin@luriechildrens.org

Hannah Glass, MD
UCSF Departments of Neurology, Pediatrics and Epidemiology & Biostatistics and Weill Institute for Neurosciences
Hannah.Glass@ucsf.edu

Christine A. Gleason, MD – Past President
University of Washington
cgleason@uw.edu

Daniel Rauch, MD – Program Chair-Elect
The Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts
University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Maria Trent, MD, MPH, FAAP, FSAHM
Johns Hopkins University Schools of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Johns Hopkins Children’s Center
mtrent2@jhmi.edu

Teri Turner, MD, M.P.H, M.Ed.
Baylor College of Medicine
tturner@bcm.edu

Ex officio

Judith Shaw, EdD, MPH, RN – PC Chair
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu
 
Eileen Fenton
PAS Executive Director
eileen.fenton@central-office.info

OUR PROGRAM LEADERSHIP COMMITTEE TEAM

Judith Shaw
PAS Program Chair
General Pediatrics, Quality Improvement
University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine
Judith.Shaw@med.uvm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Daniel Rauch
PAS Program Chair-Elect
Hospital Medicine
The Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts
University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Barrett Fromme
PAS Workshop-Chair

Hospital Medicine, Medical Education
Pritzker School of Medicine and
Comer Children’s Hospital
The University of Chicago
hfromme@bsd.uchicago.edu
Affiliation: APA

Susan Bostwick, MD, MBA
PAS Board of Directors President
Weill Cornell Medicine
sbbostwi@med.cornell.edu

Christine A. Gleason
Past PAS Board of Directors President

University of Washington
cgleason@uw.edu

OUR PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Barrett Fromme
PAS Workshop-Chair

Hospital Medicine, Medical Education
Pritzker School of Medicine and
Comer Children’s Hospital
The University of Chicago

Priti Bhansali, MD MEd 
Children’s National Hospital
Affiliation: APA

Salathiel Kendrick-Allwood, MD, FAAP 
Emory University School of Medicine
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Mohsen Saidinejad, MD, MS, MBA, FACEP, FAAP 
UCLA Medical Center
Affiliation: AAP

Andria Tatem, MD, MEd 
Baylor College of Medicine
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Sonja Ziniel, Ph.D., MA 
Children’s Hospital Colorado
Affiliation: APA

Coming Soon

Kathryn King
Telemedicine/General Pediatrics
Medical University of South Carolina
kingkl@musc.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Hugo Ruben Martinez
Cardiology
The Heart Institue-Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
hmartinez@uthsc.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Alan Schroeder
Critical Care, Hospital Medicine
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University School of Medicine
aschroe@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Barry Solomon
APA President
General Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
bsolomon@jhmi.edu
Affiliation: APA

Jean Raphael
APA President-elect
Hematology-Oncology and Section of Academic General Pediatrics
Baylor College of Medicine
raphael@bcm.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Michael Steiner
APA Secretary/Treasurer
General Pediatrics, Hospital Medicine, Adolescent Medicine
UNC Children’s, Gillings School of Global Public Health
msteiner@med.unc.edu
Affiliations: APA, AAP, SPR

Esther Chung
APA Research Committee Chair
General Pediatrics, Medical Education
University of Washington School of Medicine and
Seattle Children’s Hospital
ekc16@uw.edu
Affiliations: APA, AAP

Melissa Klein
APA Education Chair
Pediatric Primary Care
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
Melissa.Klein@cchmc.org
Affiliations: APA

Lisa Robinson
APS President
Nephrology
University of Toronto
The Hospital for Sick Children
lisa.robinson@utoronto.ca
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Michael R. DeBaun
APS President-elect
Hematology/Oncology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
m.debaun@vumc.org
Affiliation: APS

Clifford Bogue
APS Secretary/Treasurer
Critical Care
Yale School of Medicine, Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
clifford.bogue@yale.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, APA, SPR

David Cornfield
Pulmonology, Critical Care
Stanford University School of Medicine, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital
dcornfield@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Lise Nigrovic
Emergency Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital
lise.nigrovic@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR, AAP

Jennifer Read
Infectious Diseases, Epidemiology
University of Vermont, Vermont Department of Health
jennifer.read@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, PIDS, SPR

Cristina Alvira
SPR President-elect
Critical Care
Stanford University School of Medicine
calvira@stanford.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Danielle Ahn
Critical Care
Columbia University Irving Medical Center
dsa2120@columbia.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Lina Chalak
Neonatology, Developmental Neurology
UT Southwestern Medical Center
lina.chalak@utsouthwestern.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS

Alyna Chien
General Pediatrics,
Health Services Research
Boston Children’s Hospital
alyna.chien@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Keisha Gibson
Nephrology
UNC School of Medicine
kgibson@med.unc.edu
Affiliation: SPR ASPN

Durga Singer
Endocrinology
University of Michigan School of Medicine
ksinger@umich.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Jochen Profit
Neonatology
Stanford University, Lucile Salter Packard Children’s Hospital
profit@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Rita Ryan
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Case Western Reserve University, UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital
Rita.Ryan@UHhospitals.org
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Kim Reidy
ASPN Program Co-Chair
General Pediatric Nephrology
Children’s Hospital at Montefiore
KREIDY@montefiore.org
Affiliations: ASPN, SPR

Michelle Denburg
Pediatric Nephrology
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
denburgm@chop.edu
Affiliation: ASPN

Tetsuya Isayama
Neonatology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
isayama-t@ncchd.go.jp
Affiliation: ASPR

Akihiko Saitoh
Infectious Diseases
Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences
asaitoh@med.niigata-u.ac.jp
Affiliation: ASPR

Kazuko Wada
Vice President JPS
Neonatology
Osaka Women’s and Children’s Hospital
kwada@wch.opho.jp
Affiliation: ASPR

Noriyuki Namba
Pediatrics and Perinatology
Tottori University
nnamba@tottori-u.ac.jp
Affiliation: ASPR

Ross Myers
Pediatric Pulmonology
University Hospitals Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital
ross.myers@uhhospitals.org
Affiliation: APPD, APA

Linda Waggoner-Fountain
Infectious Diseases
University of Virginia Health System
LAW4Q@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS

Frederick Kaskel
Nephrology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
FKASKEL@montefiore.org
Affiliation: AAP, APS, ASPN, SPR

Madhu Sharma
Pediatric Cardiology
Children’s Hospital at Montefiore
masharma@montefiore.org
Affiliation: AAP

Michele E. Smith
Critical Care
University of Rochester Medical Center
Michele_Smith@URMC.Rochester.edu

Emily Tam
Neonatal Neurology
Hospital for Sick Children
emily.tam@sickkids.ca
Affiliation: SPR

Gary Darmstadt
Pediatrics Neonatal & Developmental Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
gdarmsta@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Suzinne Pak-Gorstein
General Pediatrics, Global Health
University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle Children’s Hospital
spakgor@uw.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Rishi Mediratta
Hospital Medicine
Stanford University School of Medicine
rishimd@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Donald Batisky
Nephrology
Emory University, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
dbatisk@emory.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN

Daniel Feig
Nephrology
UAB, Children’s of Alabama
dfeig@peds.UAB.edu
Affiliation: ASPN

Ruth Etzel
Milken Institute School of Public Health
George Washington University
retzel@gwu.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Zsakeba Henderson
SVP & Deputy Chief Medical & Health Officer, & Interim Chief Medical Officer
zhenderson@marchofdimes.org
Affiliation: MOD

Fernando Gonzalez
Neonatology
University of California San Francisco
Fernando.Gonzalez@ucsf.edu
Affiliation:

Christopher Smyser
Neonatal Neurology
St. Louis Children’s Hospital
smyserc@wustl.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Thomas Ciecierega
Gastroenterology, Nutrition
New York Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
Ciecierega@gmail.com
Affiliation: NASPGHAN

Maria E. Perez
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
marperez@luriechildrens.org
Affiliation: NASPGHAN

Lauren Solan
Hospital Medicine
University of Rochester Golisano Children’s Hospital
Lauren_Solan@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Neha Shah
Hospital Medicine
Children’s National Hospital
NShah@childrensnational.org
Affiliation: PHM

Kari Simonsen
Infectious Diseases
University of Nebraska Medical Center
kasimonsen@unmc.edu
Affiliation: PIDS, AAP, SPR

Gail J Demmler Harrison
Infectious Diseases
Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children’s Hospital
gdemmler@bcm.edu
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Richard Chung
Adolescent Medicine
Duke University
Richard.chung@duke.edu
Affiliation: SPR, AAP

Oriaku Kas-Osoka
Adolescent Medicine
Kirk Kerkorian School of Medicine Univ. of Nevada, Las Vegas
oriaku.kas-osoka@unlv.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Deborah Winders Davis
Child & Adolescent Health Research Design and Support (CAHRDS) Unit
Norton Children’s Research Institute
Affiliated with University of Louisville School of Medicine
deborah.davis@louisville.edu
Affiliation: APA

Douglas Vanderbilt
Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles
dvanderbilt@chla.usc.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Mary Landrigan
Anesthesiology, Critical Care & Pain Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Mary.Landrigan-Ossar@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: SPS

Corrie Chumpitazi
Emergency Center, Pediatric Sedation and Analgesia
Texas Children’s Hospital
cechumpi@texaschildrens.org
Affiliation: SPS, AAP

Kate G. Ackerman
Critical Care
Golisano Children’s Hospital
kate@ackerman.health

David Cooper
Critical Care
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
David.Cooper@cchmc.org
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Todd Florin
Emergency Medicine
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
taflorin@luriechildrens.org
Affiliation: APA, PIDS, SPR

Suhas G. Kallapur
Neonatology
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
UCLA Mattel Children’s Hospital
SKallapur@mednet.ucla.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Michael Posencheg
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Penn Presbyterian Medical Center, Perelman School of Medicine-University of Pennsylvania
Michael.Posencheg@pennmedicine.upenn.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Shylaja Srinivasan
Endocrinology
UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital
Shylaja.Srinivasan@ucsf.edu

Sarah Taylor
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
Sarah.N.Taylor@yale.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

OUR STAFF

Eileen Fenton
Executive Director

Glenda Minshew
PAS Meeting Director

Antonio Moreno
Director, IT

Kate Culliton
CFO – APS, SPR, PAS

Jaclyn Huff
Director, Content & Conference Planning

Carmen Beck
Director, Marketing, Communications & Development

OUR MEETINGS

Past Meetings

2022 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 21 – 25

2021 ~ VIRTUAL ~ Phase I – April 30 – May 4 | Phase-II – May 10 – June 4

2020 ~ Philadelphia, PA ~ April 29 – May 6 – CANCELED

2019 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 24 – May 1

2018 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 5 – 8

2017 ~ San Francisco, CA ~ May 6 – 9

2016 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 30 – May 3

2015 ~ San Diego, CA ~ April 25 – 28

2014 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 3 – 7

2013 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ May 4 – 7

2012 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 28 – May 1

2011 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 30 – May 3

2010 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 1 – 4

Future Meetings

2023 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ April 27 – May 1

2024 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 1 – 8

2025 ~ Honolulu, HI ~ April 23 – 30

2026 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 22 – 29

2027 ~ Minneapolis, MN ~ April 28 – May 5

2028 ~ Salt Lake City, UT ~ May 2 – May 10